Compassionate Allowances expanded

38 new compassionate allowances have been approved by the Social Security administration.  These allowances are for diseases that are generally progressive and from which a patient is not expected to cover.  (Source: Wall Street Journal)

The previous list of compassionate allowances is here on the Social Security Website.

The 38 new allowances are:
1 Alstrom Syndrome
2 Amegakaryocytic Thrombocytopenia
3 Ataxia Spinocerebellar
4 Ataxia Telangiectasia
5 Batten Disease
6 Bilateral Retinoblastoma
7 Cri du Chat Syndrome
8 Degos Disease
9 Early-Onset Alzheimer’s Disease
10 Edwards Syndrome
11 Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva
12 Fukuyama Congenital Muscular Dystrophy
13 Glutaric Acidemia Type II
14 Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH), Familial Type
15 Hurler Syndrome, Type IH
16 Hunter Syndrome, Type II
17 Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis
18 Junctional Epidermolysis Bullosa, Lethal Type
19 Late Infantile Neuronal Ceroid Lipofuscinoses
20 Leigh’s Disease
21 Maple Syrup Urine Disease
22 Merosin Deficient Congenital Muscular Dystrophy
23 Mixed Dementia
24 Mucosal Malignant Melanoma
25 Neonatal Adrenoleukodystrophy
26 Neuronal Ceroid Lipofuscinoses, Infantile Type
27 Niemann-Pick Type C
28 Patau Syndrome
29 Primary Progressive Aphasia
30 Progressive Multifocal Leukoencephalopathy
31 Sanfilippo Syndrome
32 Subacute Sclerosis Panencephalitis
33 Tay Sachs Disease
34 Thanatophoric Dysplasia, Type 1
35 Ullrich Congenital Muscular Dystrophy
36 Walker Warburg Syndrome
37 Wolman Disease
38 Zellweger Syndrome

One thought on “Compassionate Allowances expanded

  1. Pingback: Compassionate Allowances

Comments are closed.